The Junkerhaus is the creation of artist Karl Junker (1850-1912). The two-story timbered house is built on a brick pedestal with a square floor plan. The abundant carved ornaments give the house its unique look. Wood dominates the outside facade as well as the interior of the rooms. All walls and ceilings, except the back boards of the stove and oven, have wood panelling. In addition to it, several rooms and the staircase feature wall and ceiling paintings.
The pieces of furniture, designed and built by Junker, are of exquisite quality. Together with the wall and ceiling panelling, they form a unit. The Junkerhaus is considered to be a complete work of art and thus a one-of-a-kind architectural monument and an expression of enormous artistic excellence.
The Junkerhaus was reopened in 2004 after a thorough overhaul and restoration process, which was funded by the Nordrhein-Westfalen-Stiftung (North-Rhine-Westphalia Foundation). A new museum with a foyer and exhibition hall was built behind the Junkerhaus. Both buildings are connected by a roofed glass passage. The exhibition hall displays Junker’s paintings, drawings, sculptures, pieces of furniture and architectural models.